Learning Institutions

S/n Name of institution

Courses Offered

Under Graduate Post Graduate Phd Others
1 University of Dar es Salaam
2 Muhimbili University College of Health Sciences
3 University College of Lands and Architectural Studies
4 Sokoine University of Agriculture
5 Open University of Tanzania
6 Mzumbe University
7 State University of Zanzibar
8 Moshi University College of Cooperative and Business Studies
9 Dar es Salaam Institute of Technology
10 Mbeya Institute of Technology
11 Technical College Arusha

Note: other include Full Technician Certificate (FTC); and Advanced Diploma in Engineering (ADE)

Non Learning Institutions

Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH)

Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology was established under the Act of Parliament No. 7 of 1986 as a successor to the Tanzania National Scientific Research Council (UTAFITI). It became operational in 1988. MandateAmong others the mandate of COSTECH include:-To advise the Government on all matters relating to scientific research and technology development. It is also coordinates and promotes all research activities in the country. Hence all major national research and development institutes are affiliated to COSTECH.More details about TAEC can be obtained from here

Tanzania Atomic Energy Commission


The Tanzania Atomic Energy Commission (TAEC) is a Regulatory and Service Parastatal Organization reconstituted from the National Radiation Commission (TAEC) following the coming into effect of the Atomic Energy Act 2003 on 1st July, 2004; and the subsequent demise of the National Radiation Commission.TAEC was established during a period of Parastatal Organizations and Public Service reforms; and has been mandated to regulate and supervise the use of atomic energy and nuclear technology so as to protect workers, patients, the public and the environment from harmful effects of both ionizing and non-ionizing radiation. Further to this TAEC has been mandated to co-ordinate and facilitate the promotion of nuclear technology and the safe and peaceful utilization of atomic energy.

TAEC’s Mandate

According to the Atomic Energy Act No. 7 of 2003, the mandate of TAEC is to provide regulatory and radiation protection services; and to co-ordinate or facilitate or advise on, the transfer and safe, peaceful utilization of nuclear technology and atomic energy. More specifically, TAEC is charged with the functions in relation to the control of the use of ionizing and non ionizing radiation sources, the promotion of safe, secure and peaceful use of nuclear technology and atomic energy; and to advise the government on the implementation of international conventions related to nuclear technology and atomic energy. More details about TAEC can be obtained from this link